4-H Equine Program
Image by Marc Ducharme

The 4-H Equine program at the Niagara County Fair

Equine Program
Image by Marc Ducharme

The 4-H Equine program at the Niagara County Fair

4-H Equine Program

The 4-H Equine program is for individuals who have a passion for horses whether they own one or not. Youth may join a club or join as an individual member. Some activities offered include the following: 

Horse Clubs – we have several horse clubs in the county – some are specific to mini horses, some are a mix of western and English riders, each club varies in how it runs and the activities they participate. Please contact the 4-H office to see which clubs are excepting new members.

Horse Bowl & Hippology - Quiz bowl to test equine IQ. Practices begin in January, competition is in April.

Horse Judging - Members learn the criteria for different equine disciplines and then attend 3+ judging contests in March, April, and August.

Horse Speech and Demonstration Contests - Participants can create a speech or equine related demonstration and present it at competitions.

5 Star Program - Used as a tool to gauge youths levels of equine related education, comprehension, and achievements while participating in the Counts 4-H Equine program. The intent of this program is to assist club leaders as well as individual members in mastering various horse related topics. This event happens once a year in March.

Annual Tack Swap - Saturday, April 24, 2021 - This will be an “outdoor” event held in the Agricultural Education Building along with the livestock show ring and beef barn area. 

Horseback Riding Activities:

Local, Regional & State Horse Shows - Any 4-H member who wishes to participate in any 4-H sanctioned shows are encouraged to enrolled by October each year (although not required). See below for more information on upcoming horse shows and activities.

2021 NYS Horseback Riding Log Sheet  (and other interactions with your horse) 

2021:

Horse Bowl: Join us to learn about horses and their care. Meetings are divided into 3 age groups: beginner, junior and senior. You do not need to own a horse to join us and you are not required to attend all meetings, join us when you can. 

Dates: Jan. 7 (Thurs), Jan 27 (Wed), Feb. 17 (Wed), March 11 (Thurs), March 31 (Wed), April 21 (Wed).Regional contest date has not yet been set.Please bring your own pen/pencil and wear a mask.We will be practicing social distancing also. These meetings meet the requirements for exhibiting at county fair.For more info contact Cherly Bish at 439-4499 or email ckrfarms@aol.com.

Virtual Horse Bowl Practice Online Sessions: CLICK HERE (offered during the months of January and February 2021)

2021 Tack Swap: Save the date, Saturday, April 24.This will be an “outdoor” event held in the Ag Ed building, along with the livestock show ring and beef barn.Details to follow.

Equine Presentations: date and details have not been finalized yet for 2021, but if anyone would like help picking a topic I attended a webinar presented by the Eastern National 4-H Presentation committee and have some helpful tips. Contact equine leader at: 439-4499 or email ckrfarms@aol.com Cheryl Bish

2021 Horse Show dates: join the Niagara County 4-H Equine facebook page or watch the CCE Niagara website for dates and entry information.

2021 Niagara County 4-H Horse Show Dates:

May 2 (Sunday) - Open Schooling Show

May 15 (Saturday) - Open Western/Games Show

May 16 ( Sunday) - Open English Show

May 22 (Saturday) - Miniature Horse Show

June 5/6 (Saturday/Sunday) - AMHR and Shetland Horse Show

June 12 (Saturday) - Open Western/Games Show

June 13 (Sunday) - Open English Show

June 19 (Saturday) - Miniature Horse Show

July 10 (Saturday) - 4-H Regional Western/Games Show

July 11 (Sunday) - 4-H Regional English Show

July 17 - (Saturday) - Open Western/Games Show

July 18 - (Sunday) - Open English Show

July 24 ( Saturday) _ Miniature Horse Show

August 7 (Saturday) - Open Games Show (County Fair)

August 8 (Sunday) - Open English/Western Show (County Fair)

Sept. 11 (Saturday) - Open Western/Games Show

Sept. 12 (Sunday) - Open English Show

Sept. 25/26 (Sat/Sunday) - Miniature Horse Inter-county Show

October 9/10 (Sat/Sunday) - Inter-county Horse Show

October 22 (Friday) - Year end Awards Dinner

Contact

Linda Tripp
Issue Leader, 4-H Youth Development
lke2@cornell.edu
(518) 828-3346 ext. 210

Last updated March 12, 2021